My! My! Time flies!

…One step and we’re on the moon, next step into the stars.*

*shout out to my girl Enya for the above lyrics. A stretch? Maybe, but I’ll do what I can to get Enya in my blog posts.

Primrose Hill
Primrose Hill

But in all seriousness, today marks just one more month left in this amazing city and you may be wondering what it is I am actually doing here. Well, although it may seem this way, I am not just here finding instagramable  photo-opts (follow me, @errbrooks to see what I mean) and building my alcohol tolerance *legally* before my 21st birthday. I am actually here to expand my educational and professional portfolio through the Arcadia University College of Global Studies – London Summer Internship Program. I am taking a theatre class that meets twice a week as well as interning at Halpern which is a Strategic PR and Communications Consultancy for Consumer Brands (say that 10 times fast).

Putting the Study in Study Abroad one Show at a Time

For my class I am required to see a show every week – how terrible right? It is great to spend a night in different parts of the city seeing polished, thought-provoking performances. The first show we saw was Titus Andronicus at Shakespeare’s Globe Theater and after that, we saw 1984 which was a play adapted from the appendix of George Orwell’s novel, 1984. Lastly, just tonight, we saw a show called Mr. Burns which is a three act post-electric show that is about, in few words, a group of people who try to remember and reenact an episode of The Simpsons. Yup, it was just as interesting as it sounds. The other shows we having coming up are Perseverance Drive and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. I will be sure to report back with reviews on each of those!

Titus Andronicus - The Globe Theatre
Titus Andronicus – The Globe Theatre

Overall, I  really enjoy the shows we have been going to see. They are all very different but always make me leave the theater perplexed. Not to mention, seeing a show with a group of educated “theatre people” really enhances the experience because afterwards you can discuss things such as the characters super objectives or the disregard for classic dramatic structure. Later next month I will have a journal and a final paper due – can’t you just see shows and that be it? I know, I ask myself that often but unfortunately that will not get me my precious Penn State credits. With that being said, any motivation you can provide that will get me to hit the books would be much appreciated!

Intern Life at Halpern

As previously mentioned, in addition to the theater class I am taking, I am also interning 3 days a week at a public relations firm in Soho. Luckily I am able to walk to work which takes me about 45 minutes but saves me money (which I then spend on a cup of coffee everyday). I am working on the consumer/lifestyle team with a variety of clients. From my previous public relations internship at NickersonPR, most of my experience is working with business to business (B2B) clients so being at Halpern, it is great having the opportunity to get experience with business to consumer (B2C) clients. I actually found it SO interesting that I am writing my research paper on the differences between the two.

Most of the tasks I am doing at Halpern are typical intern tasks but I expected that. However, I have noticed that as the days go on I am starting to acquire more responsibility such as researching and developing a plan for our client to get into a high-end department store, cool right? I’m taking each day as it comes but always try to have a positive attitude so I can get as much out of this experience as possible. Who knows maybe I will get offered a job which will then mean I have to move here… one can dream.

xo

 

Leave a Reply

